Rant of the Day

I had to take my child to the Dr. today. She had an earache that wasn’t going away with warm drops of tea tree and coconut oil. Yes, I use these hippy medicines as my first line of defense, mainly because of what I am about to tell you. Are you ready to be floored, people? Get this – I had to pay $90.48 for them to tell me that my daughter had swimmers ear and for a prescription of antibiotic ear drops. The real clencher? We already pay somewhere in the ballpark of $14,000 per year in health insurance to make sure our perfectly healthy, relatively young family of four has health coverage.

If this was a one time thing, I wouldn’t even care that much. I would pay the money and wash my hands of it. But guess what? Back in July my other daughter had a sore throat. It wasn’t going away, and when I peaked back at her tonsils with a flashlight after a few days I could see the white spots. Damn. No hippy medicine for this, I was going to have to take her in. Check out this bill:

american insurance bill Kaiser Foundation

American insurance bill – Kaiser Foundation

At the time, we paid our $50 copay. Thank God she didn’t even have strep throat, so we didn’t have to front the money for the antibiotics. I thought we were all done with everything, but a month later we got the above bill. Turns out a NON-URGENT, same day office visit is $346.00. Phew – glad we only have to pay $75 of that out of pocket. Also note that it was ANOTHER $62 for them to “directly observe” her tonsils at the office visit, of which we only had to pay $15. Oh, and that last part? It was $44 for them to swab and culture her to make sure she really didn’t have strep. We paid $11, but they charged our insurance company (which, essentially, is themselves – the Kaiser Foundation) that other $33. To culture bacteria in a petri dish. Seriously, people. Our total out of pocket expenses for our daughter that day were $151. FOR THEM TO TELL US SHE DIDN’T HAVE STREP THROAT.

So, back to my poor Estelle’s ear infection. I expect we will get another bill for the rest of the costs in the next month. I’m 34 years old, and my kids are 9 and 10. My husband has been a public school teacher for the last 9 years (another rant, another day) and I can honestly say that this is the first year that I’ve felt raped by our healthcare system. I’ve known its been bad for a long time. Working in the public sector has not paid well by any means, but at least it’s always given us healthcare. Over the years, my mind has been blown by the percent increase in cost every year when open enrollment comes up. The district always has paid $1,000 every month for us toward health coverage. Nine years ago this gave us really good insurance, actually. Slowly, though, we’ve had to opt for less and less health coverage because as the cost of premiums increased, his salary did not. The school district covered the same amount, and this last year we had to pay an extra $200 or so on top of that thousand just to give us the bottom rung that they offer.

This is the first year that I’ve been afraid to take my kids to the doctor. I do everything I can to wait it out, to make sure they REALLY have to go before I take them in. I get ill thinking about how much I’m going to have to pay, and I pray that nobody gets really sick. We are considered middle class America, and I am worried about what this means. It should be a right of everyone here to not fear taking your children to the doctor. I don’t know a good solution, but I know something needs to change. I paid for our prescription yesterday and when I walked outside with my daughter I cried. I feel so dirty. But hey, it’s good to know that the VP of Architecture at Kaiser Permanente gets paid 200k per year. Because that, folks, is an extremely important job. (See more salaries at http://www.glassdoor.com)

2 thoughts on “Rant of the Day

  1. Yes.

    Just, yes.

    The next person to tell me we don’t need single payor healthcare in this country I think I’ll run them over with my car. (Dear PTB that may be monitoring this: I’m joking. Sort of. What about a toe?)

    But yeah. The year my husband’s liver failed and he almost died, we had over twelve grand in medical bills and that was WITH insurance. 3 MRI’s, 2 CT scans, x-rays and a biopsy, and all the doctor visits. Jeez.

    I feel for you. I don’t know what people do who can’t pay; and “holding it” isn’t good for anyone’s health.

    How are the girls? Are they doing well now, I hope?

    • Thanks for your comment. The girls are fine! Just normal kid things, you know? I am just so thankful it’s been nothing major – I can’t imagine what would happen to us in a catastrophe. I’ve heard of everything from the bankruptcy of a good friend (he is thankfully ok, but had to declare bankruptcy for his whole family and he was barely 30 years old) to people actually dying because they’ve reached their limits and the hospitals won’t treat them anymore. It is so, so sad. Seriously, though. We really need public healthcare reform, not just this weird in-between that we have. We would’ve been better off pretending that we didn’t have insurance and just going to the clinic. Or going to Mexico, which I am honestly considering next time since it’s only about a 15 minute drive. Anyway, this is getting me all riled up again =) I hope your day is well.

Leave a Reply

