Weeding Through Memories

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/daily-prompt-shake-it-up/

I am 33 years old, so my twelfth birthday was just over 20 years ago. I can’t even believe I’m saying that. My best friend and I were reflecting just today on how crazy it was to think that we’ve had certain things in our possession, things like tongs and pans and children for 6 years, 10 years, 15 years. Not so very long ago, this duration of time was unfathomable; a lifetime to my adolescent self.

I barely remember my twelfth birthday. Jim Morrison once wrote a poem that’s been one of my favorites since I stumbled across it in high school because it strikes me as true. A rock star’s truth and my truth, parallel universes and worlds apart:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I look back over my life

I am struck by postcards

ruined snapshots

faded posters

of a time, I can’t recall

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So for my twelfth birthday, I have flashes of memories in my head that are somewhat confirmed by my mom’s old photo albums. I think it was a slumber party. I am pretty sure that I invited a bunch of girls that weren’t really my friends, simply because they were the cool girls and everyone who was anyone invited them to their parties. I remember one of them being a bitch – I hadn’t really wanted to invite her. She topped it off by throwing up all over my mom’s rug. In reality, it was insignificance followed by 20+ years of other mostly insignificant things, broken up by bits of truly significant and beautiful things.

I can’t believe I have an almost twelve year old child now. She soon will be planning her epic twelfth birthday party. Me? I’ll be there with my camera.

One thought on “Weeding Through Memories

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake It Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

