Momentum

So, I am pretty all over the place when it comes to work, in general, and what I want to do with my life. It’s really difficult to put my aspirations and life goals in a single box and label it. I can’t imagine working at the same job with the same people for a hundred years before retiring and dying. My life is just not about that. I know some people thrive on that, but it honestly freaks me out. I think that’s a big reason I am so drawn to writing.

When I chose to embark on this journey, I knew I couldn’t put myself in a box. I write web copy on one hand, and some days I am really good with that. I love researching and creating a logical flow to these articles. Other days, I never fully wake up from my dreams and I pour my time into living in someone else’s head, telling the story of some made-up character. Sometimes, I am so convicted by something happening in my neighborhood or the world-at-large that I have to rant about it on my other blog. Recently, I decided that I was going to start submitting these outpourings of things in my head to various outlets and see what would happen. Realistically, if I want to keep doing this I need to somehow make some money — my husband will only give me so much leeway.

Well, a couple of days ago I got my first acceptance! My article will be published in our local news magazine. I know it’s not that big of a deal for some of you, but it was just the nudge forward that I needed to keep going with this. I needed this small pat on my back to let me know that somewhere out there, this is possible. Don’t laugh, but real published writers have always been like movie stars to me. Something awe-inspiring and unachievable.

I love that I can write something different everyday, depending on my mood. I am submitting essays, flash fiction, travel stories, neighborhood news, and working on my novel. I think I might start another novel that I can write simultaneously, on a completely different subject. I think I’ve finally found my niche, something that can keep me occupied no matter which direction I happen to be going on a particular day. I just need to find enough outlets! If you have suggestions for open submissions or queries, post them here. I’ll post what I find, too, and maybe we can help each other.

Leave a Reply

